What a difference a week makes…

Last Monday I was about to profess to my blog how amazingly life was finally going. I had rid myself of the conniving demons of 2012, with 2013 looking to be a year of great fortune, smiles and positive change.
Unfortunately, my optimism peaked too soon.
Through the week bad news slowly trickled in; firstly with the discovery that my university course may not give me the relevant qualification to get where I want to go. By Thursday the bad news decided to act as more of a flood than an inconvenient faucet drip. I received a gut-punching phone call from my brother to tell me he has to have the second half of his thyroid removed, along with an iodine scan due to the discovery of a cancerous tumour. Nobody expects that kind of news, especially from a healthy 21 year old boy. It’s not fair, the poor kid has never done anything bad in his life (except maybe steal a smartie from the pic’n’mix counter when he was 4) but he doesn’t deserve this kind of crap. I am in awe of his strength and calmness, I just hope he has the sense to vent when he needs it and not just bottle it up. Luckily, his friends and our family are pretty darn amazing and there to support him every step of the way, despite his stubborn stoic behaviour.
And while this was devastating enough to take in, to add insult to injury, my house decided to just make it that bit more exciting by literally trickling… two leaking walls now grace my house, in two separate areas.
I hate not being positive, it annoys me when I do everything to be the optimistic bumblebee of the group only to have my wings pulled off. Especially as it took nearly four years to regain my sanity after my father passed away. I’m 26 years old but at this moment in time I feel about 80, all I want to do is hide under my blanket, eating worthers original until the sun comes out.

Oh, and one of my university assignments involves exploring social networking communities, which led me here, which led to this rant, which I had no intention of writing but it actually feels good to get it off my chest.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

